About the Institute

logoLars Hinrichs & Matt Cohen, Co-directors
Nicole Gray, Coordinator

The 2010-11 Texas Institute for Literary and Textual Studies hosted three symposia to interrogate broadly the relationship between the humanities and the rise of the digital. These symposia aimed to contribute significantly to the digital humanities by posing a series of hard questions about the tensions between the terms digital and humanities. What can we say we have learned about the relationships between the digital and the human, and between the digital and the humanities? What are the major problems and possibilities of humanities pedagogy performed through or based in computation?

Theorists routinely revise and extend concepts of the digital and of the human. But do practical initiatives in the digital humanities hold as yet under-articulated consequences for such theories? And, conversely, how might theoretical discussion of the digital humanities help clarify pressing practical problems in the field? All events were free and open to the public.

A white paper reflecting on the symposia may be downloaded here.

An archive of some social-media-based conversations about TILTS symposium three may be downloaded here (with thanks to Mark Sample).

TILTS Staff and Committee


First Symposium

  • Jim Brown
  • Travis Brown
  • John Bryant
  • Diane Davis
  • Neil Fraistat
  • Lisa Gitelman
  • David Haeselin
  • Pamela Ingleton
  • Elizabeth Keating
  • David Kornhaber
  • Laura Mandell
  • Lisa Nakamura
  • Martha Nell Smith
  • Kenneth M. Price
  • Gabriela Redwine
  • Amanda Rossie
  • Dale Smith
  • Clay Spinuzzi
  • Siva Vaidhyanathan
  • Matthew Wilkens

Second Symposium

  • Howard Besser
  • Olin Bjork
  • Carl Blyth
  • Amanda Booher
  • Rebecca Frost Davis
  • Jeremy Douglass
  • Amy Earhart
  • Maria Esteva
  • Julia Flanders
  • Amanda French
  • Patricia Galloway
  • Cynthia Haynes
  • Jan Rune Holmevik
  • Fred Kemp
  • Alan Liu
  • Liz Losh
  • Abby Smith Rumsey
  • Loriene Roy
  • Lisa Spiro
  • Megan Winget

Third Symposium

  • Samuel Baker
  • Jason Baldridge
  • David Beaver
  • Kim Christen
  • Sebastian Domsch
  • Johanna Drucker
  • Anna Everett
  • N. Katherine Hayles
  • Justin Hodgson
  • Nick Montfort
  • Matthew Kirschenbaum
  • Robert Mitchell
  • Chris Ortiz y Prentice
  • James Pennebaker
  • T-Kay Sangwand
  • Jeffrey T. Schnapp
  • Joseph Thompson
  • Josh Iorio
  • John Unsworth
  • Patricia Yaeger
  • José Enrique Navarro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s